Monday, January 12, 2009

The 2009 HOF Class

The votes are in!

Congratulations to Rickey Henderson and Jim Rice on being elected to the HOF. Congrats gentleman. I'll see you guys in July.

Andre Dawson and Bert Blyleven fell just short. Dawson was 44 shorts shy, Blyleven 67. Maybe next year fellas. I hope you get there.

Don Mattingly picked up 64 votes, which was about 341 shy of induction. I love Donnie Baseball, but I don't think he's a HOFer. I understand the argument, and i wish I could get behind it, but I can't. It just doesn't work for me.

As I expected, there were a handful of guys who received votes that shouldn't have. Jay Bell got 2 votes. Jesse Orosco got 1 vote. Mo Vaughn got 6. Surprisingly, Ron Gant, Dan Plesac, and Greg Vaughn didn't get any. I'm sorry, but whoever gave these guys a vote needs to get their credentials yanked. There is no way you can justify giving a vote to Jay Bell. And how does Rickey Henderson only pick up 94.8% of the vote. How is he not a unanimous selection? There were 539 ballots cast so that means 28 boneheads didn't vote for Rickey.

Ridiculous. Absolutely ridiculous.

Peace, love and Pinstripes,



Michael Christopher said...

Jay Bell? Why why why?

She-Fan said...

Can't wait to hear Rickey's induction speech.